Lions to get major exposure in 2012
Jim Schwartz (Kim Klement, US Presswire)
Jim Schwartz (Kim Klement, US Presswire)
Publisher
Posted Apr 17, 2012
Nate Caminata


Detroit's 2012 schedule is rife with nationally televised appearances.

The Detroit Lions 2012 regular season schedule was announced on Tuesday, and it came with some good and bad news.

The bad? Four out of team's first six contests will be played on the road. Even more challenging? Each road trip is back-to-back.

The good news? After last year's 10-win mark -- the squad's first winning season since 2000 -- they were rewarded five nationally televised contests. It's the first time since 1998 that the Lions have enjoyed that much exposure.

One of the team's nationally televised tilts that will earn significant attention will be a week two matchup at San Francisco. Last season, after losing at home to the 49ers in the final minutes, Detroit coach Jim Schwartz and San Francisco coach Jim Harbaugh engaged in a small scuffle that led to an even larger debacle as each squad headed towards the tunnel.

The Lions will also end the season with five of its final seven games at Ford Field.

Below is the complete 2012 schedule of the Detroit Lions.

Sunday, September 9 - 1 pm (EST) - St. Louis Rams (FOX)
Sunday, September 16 - 8:20 pm AT San Francisco 49ers (NBC) *
Sunday, September 23 - 1 pm AT Tennessee Titans (FOX)
Sunday, September 30 - 1 pm - Minnesota Vikings (FOX)
Sunday, October 7 - BYE
Sunday, October 14 - 1 pm - AT Philadelphia Eagles (FOX)
Monday, October 22 - 8:30 pm - AT Chicago Bears (ESPN) *
Sunday, October 28 - 1 pm - Seattle Seahawks (FOX)
Sunday, November 4 - 1 pm - AT Jacksonville Jaguars (FOX)
Sunday, November 11 - 1pm - AT Minnesota Vikings (FOX)
Sunday, November 18 - 1 pm - Green Bay Packers (FOX)
Thursday, November 22 - 12:30 pm - Houston Texans (CBS) # *
Sunday, December 2 - 1 pm - Indianapolis Colts (FOX)
Sunday, December 9 - 8:20 pm - AT Green Bay (NBC) *
Sunday, December 16 - 4:05 pm - AT Arizona Cardinals (FOX)
Saturday, December 22 - 8:30 pm - Atlanta Falcons (ESPN) *
Sunday, December 30 - 1 pm - Chicago Bears (FOX)


# - Thanksgiving Day Game
* - Nationally Televised Game
Home games are in bold


Related Stories
Lions, Avril continue to work on contract
 -by RoarDigest.com  Apr 17, 2012
Offseason arrests may haunt Lions
 -by RoarDigest.com  Apr 12, 2012
Mady: Detroit Lions 2012 Season Prediction
 -by RoarDigest.com  Apr 23, 2012

PREMIUM SUBSCRIPTION INCLUDES
> Members-only Forums
> Insider Information
> Free Agency &
   Draft News
> Expert Chats

Sign Up Today!

Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from RoarDigest.com. Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Detroit
[View My HotList]